Day 65 Post 1 – Financial Goals

In a recent conversation with my aunt I learned she took a financial course at her church not too long ago. I called her back a few days later (after an extremely frustrating experience at a car dealership) to ask her how she would recommend I start my own financial correction process.

She had several suggestions but the one I’m going to implement immediately is splitting my expenses. For example, I’m going to assume that each month has four weeks and split each expense into four. Each week I will put a quarter of each bills estimate amount into my savings account so when the bill comes due I have the funds. Let’s just say that D and I don’t always plan ahead, but emergencies and unexpected expenses also arise.

The first step I need to take with this process is writing out all my expenses. I don’t mind sharing, and this IS my accountability blog, so I’m going to do it here.

Rent: $725
Water: $40
Gas (house): $120
Electric: $120
Car insurance: $130
Student loan #1: $100
Student loan #2: $100
Cable/phone/internet: $130
D’s car: $330
D’s child support: $220

The total of all that equals $2015, and this doesn’t include food, clothes, entertainment, gas for the car or holidays. Phoooooo… $504/week. I need to make sure I’m getting as close to 40 hours as possible, if not more.

2 thoughts on “Day 65 Post 1 – Financial Goals

  1. Just the fact that you decided to start and add it all up puts you on an awesome path. I think I read in a previous post that you dusted off T.R.’s Personal Power 2 program. Good for you. Don’t let it collect dust. I do it at least once a year and go through the exercises each time.

    • Thanks so much for your feedback and encouragement! Yup, I actually need to keep listening to TR. I got to the first assignment and had my hands full but haven’t gotten back yet. :X

Leave a Reply

